Home button

English 4900 schedule, spring 2017

Updated 4/23/17

Note that this schedule of meeting and assignments is tentative. I will make adjustments as need arises, giving ample notice in class and on the web when making changes in the schedule.

 
Day/Date
Assignments due
In class
Week 1
Wed. Jan. 11

Introduction to course
Course syllabus
On plagiarism

Reflective response 1

Thurs. Jan. 12
Drop/add ends
 
Week 2
Mon. Jan. 16
MLK Day holiday
 
Wed. Jan. 18
Faculty advisor acknowledgment form
Discussion of topic viability,
theoretical or critical contexts
Week 3
Mon. Jan. 23  
Wed. Jan. 25
Class meets in Library, SSC Lab 2
Discussion of topics
and organization
Research orientation
Week 4
Wed. Feb. 1
No class meeting
Individual conferences
Week 5
Mon. Feb. 6
Paper: pages 1-5 in D2L
 
Wed. Feb. 8  
In-class workshopping
Week 6
Mon. Feb. 13
Paper: revised pages 1-5 in D2L
 
Wed. Feb. 15  
No class meeting
Individual conferences
Week 7
Mon. Feb. 20
Paper: pages 1-10 in D2L
 
Wed. Feb. 22  
In-class workshopping
Week 8
Wed. March 1
Paper: pages 1-15 in D2L
Reflective response 3
No class meeting
Individual conferences
Fri. March 3  
 
Mon. March 6-
Sun. March 12
 Spring break
 Spring break
Week 9 Wed. March 15
 Paper: pages 1-20 in D2L
Last day to withdraw 

with "W" grade
 
No class meeting
Individual conferences
Fri. March 17
 
Workshopping outside of class
Week 10
Mon. March 20
Paper: complete draft in D2L 
 
Wed. March 22

 

Week 11
Wed. March 29
Reflective response 4
Paper: revised complete draft in D2L
No class meeting
Individual conferences
Week 12
Wed. April 5
Cut-down presentation draft in D2L
No class meeting
Individual conferences
Week 13
Mon. April 10
Cut-down presentation revision in D2L
 
Wed. April 12  
No class meeting
Individual conferences
Week 14
Mon. April 17
 
Individual conferences
Wed. April 19
Cut-down presentation final draft in D2L
Reflective response 5
Presentation rehearsal
Week 15
Mon. April 24
Digital display docs due via email by midnight
Wed. April 26  

Presentation rehearsal in SLC
(Foundation Boardroom in cafeteria)
Week 16
Wed. May 3
Paper: revised final draft in D2L
Reflective response 6
Presentations