Home button


English 5106 schedule, fall 2018

Updated 8/14/18

This schedule of readings and assignments is tentative. I will make adjustments to the schedule as needed.

Unit Dates Material Readings Assignments
  Mon, August 13
  –Tues, August 14
Introduction to the course and Brightspace/D2L
ENGL 5106 syllabus Student info form
Threaded discussion (D2L)
Syllabus quiz (D2L)
  Thurs, August 16

Drop/add ends

   
1
Wed, August 15
  –Tues, August 21
Introduction to technical communication
Ethical and legal concerns
Technical Communication (Tech Comm) chapters 1-2 (pp. 2-40) Launchpad registration (see D2L)
Threaded discussion (see D2L)
Individual project 1
2
Wed, August 22
  –Tues, August 28
The writing process
Collaborative writing

Proximity
Tech Comm chs. 3-4 (pp. 42-81)


The Non-Designer's Design Book (NDDB)
chs. 1-2 (pp. 11-32)
Launchpad LearningCurve
Threaded discussion
Individual project 1
3
Wed, August 29
  –Tues, Sept 4
Audience and purpose

Alignment
Tech Comm ch. 5 (pp. 84-114)

NDDB ch. 3 (pp. 33-54)
Threaded discussion
4
Wed, Sept 5
  –Tues, Sept 11
Research
Organization
Tech Comm chs. 6-7 (pp. 116-69) Launchpad LearningCurve
Threaded discussion
Collaborative project 1
5
Wed, Sept 12
  –Tues, Sept 18
Persuasiveness
Clarity and emphasis

Repetition
Tech Comm chs. 8-9 (pp. 172-211)

NDDB ch. 4 (pp. 55-68)
Threaded discussion
Individual project 2
6
Wed, Sept 19
  –Tues, Sept 25
Correctness and effectiveness

Contrast
Tech Comm ch. 10 (pp. 213-43)

NDDB ch. 5 (pp. 69-84)
Launchpad LearningCurve
Threaded discussion
7
Wed, Sept 26
  –Tues, Oct 2
Document design

Tips and tricks
Tech Comm ch. 11 (pp. 247-88)

NDDB ch. 8 (pp. 113-48)
Launchpad quiz
Threaded discussion
Individual project 3
8
Wed, Oct 3
  –Tues, Oct 9
Graphics Tech Comm ch. 12 (pp. 291-332) Launchpad quiz
Threaded discussion
Collaborative project 2
  Wed, Oct 10 Withdrawal deadline
9
Wed, Oct 10
  –Tues, Oct 16
Usability/document evaluation

Type Contrasts

Tech Comm ch. 13 (pp. 336-58)

NDDB ch. 12 (pp. 187-218)
Launchpad quiz
Threaded discussion
10
Wed, Oct 17
  –Tues, Oct 23
Print and digital documents Tech Comm ch. 14 (pp. 362-87) Launchpad quiz
Threaded discussion
Individual project 4
11
Wed, Oct 24
  –Tues, Oct 30
Proposals Tech Comm ch. 16 (pp. 422-46) Launchpad quiz
Threaded discussion
Collaborative project 3
12
Wed, Oct 31
  –Tues, Nov 6
Informational reports Tech Comm ch. 17 (pp. 448-66) Launchpad quiz
Threaded discussion
13
Wed, Nov 7
  –Tues, Nov 13
Recommendation reports Tech Comm ch. 18 (pp. 470-514) Launchpad quiz
Threaded discussion
Collaborative project 4
14
Wed, Nov 14
  –Sat, Nov 17
Definitions, descriptions, instructions Tech Comm ch. 20 (pp. 535-77) Launchpad quiz
Threaded discussion
Individual project 5
  Sun Nov 18
  –Sun, Nov 25
Thanksgiving holiday
15
Mon, Nov 26
  –Fri, Dec 7
    Formal report due