Home button

English 1101.03A schedule, spring 2022

Updated 5/2/22

This schedule is tentative and subject to change.

Day/Date Assignments due Readings due In class
Wednesday, January 12  

Course syllabus
1101 syllabus supplement
1101 grades and grading

Introduction to course
Monday, January 17 Martin Luther King Day - no class meeting
Wednesday, January 19 Student info (online)
Drop/add ends
Simple Stuff
Golden rules 1-5

Writing exercise 1

Monday, January 24 Writing exercise 2 Golden rules 6-10
Little, Brown Reader (LBR):
  "Hollow Claims about Fantasy . . ." 109-11
 
Wednesday, January 26   LBR: "Letting Go" 164-66  
Monday, January 31 Golden rules exam (D2L quiz) LBR: "Big Mother Is Watching" 428-31 Writing exercise 3
Wednesday, February 2   Nuggets 1-3
Handout:
"Obsessed with Sport"
Writing exercise 4
Monday, February 7   Nuggets 4-7
Handout: "It Isn't Just a Game"
Paper 1 assigned
Wednesday, February 9 Paper 1 proposal Nuggets 8-10
On plagiarism
Persuasive format
Monday, February 14 Paper 1 draft Persuasive format Peer response 1
Wednesday, February 16 Paper 1 final draft Quotations 1-2
LBR: "Class Dismissed" 294-96
 
Friday, February 18 Nuggets exam (D2L quiz)
Monday, February 21   Quotations 3-4
Persuasive format sample 1
Handout: "Why Do American Kids Learn So Little?"
 
Wednesday, February 23     Discussion:
    Good teaching
Monday, February 28   LBR: "Proposal to Abolish Grading" 312-14
  "In Defense of Testing" 315-16
  "Two Cheers for Examinations" 317-20
Writing exercise 5
Wednesday, March 2 Paper 1 corrections   Paper 2 assigned
In-class essay
Friday, March 4

Paper 1 proposal due at 5:00 p.m.

Monday, March 7 Paper 2 draft Word problems Peer response 2
Wednesday, March 9

Word problems exam (D2L quiz)

LBR: "Work" 331-36  
Monday, March 14 Paper 2 final draft Handout: "What You Do Is What You Are"  
Wednesday, March 16 Last day to withdraw 
with "W" grade
LBR: "Brains as Well as Brawn" 337-38
  "Case for Working with Your Hands" 338-47
 
Monday, March 21-
  Sunday, March 27
Spring Break
Monday, April 8 Handouts: "Work, Labor and Play"
  "The Importance of Work"
Paper 3 assigned
Wednesday, March 30 Paper 3 proposal Proposal conferences Proposal conferences
Monday, April 4 Paper 3 draft Quotations 5 Peer response 3
Wednesday, April 6 In-class essay corrections LBR: "Why Boys Don't Play with Dolls" 232-35  
Friday, March 8

Paper 2 corrections

Monday, April 11 Paper 3 final draft Online: "Barbie Doll"
LBR: "I Want a Wife" 150-51
 
Wednesday, April 13   LBR: "Women's Brains" 223-28
  "You Are What You Say" 368-73

  "The Second Shift" 144-49
 
Monday, April 18 Quotations exam (D2L quiz) Online: "Hard Rock"
LBR
: "The Male Myth" 229-31
Handout: "The 'Act Like a Man' Box"
 
Wednesday, April 20  

Handouts: "Men as Success Objects"
    "The Men We Carry in Our Minds"

Paper 4 assigned
Friday, April 22 Paper 4 proposal due by 5:00 p.m.
Monday, April 25 Writing Matters Test (D2L quiz) No class meeting
Wednesday, April 27


   
Friday, April 23 Paper 3 corrections
Monday, May 2 Paper 4 draft   Paper conferences
Wednesday, May 4   Handout: "The Prisoner's Dilemma"  
Final exam
Monday, May 9
8:00-10:00 a.m.
    Final exam essay
Last day to submit work
Monday, May 9
midnight
Paper 4 final draft
Paper 1-3 rewrites