Home button

English 1101.05 schedule, fall 2022

Updated 9/27/22

This schedule of readings and assignments is tentative.

Day/Date Assignments due Readings due In class
Thursday, August 11  

 

Course syllabus
1101 syllabus supplement
1101 grades and grading

Persuasive format
Tuesday, August 16 Student info (online)
Drop/add ends

Simple Stuff
Golden rules

No class meeting
Thursday, August 18 Writing exercise 1

Persuasive format
Little, Brown Reader (LBR):
  "Hollow Claims about Fantasy . . ." 109-11

Writing exercise 2
Tuesday, August 23   LBR: "Letting Go" 164-66 Persuasive format
Thursday, August 25 Golden rules quiz
Golden rules quiz answers
LBR: "Big Mother Is Watching" 428-31  
Tuesday, August 30 Golden rule exam (D2L quiz) Nuggets 1-5
LBR:
  "The Family" 143-44
 
Thursday, September 1

Nuggets quiz
Nuggets quiz answers

Nuggets 6-10
LBR: "Eminem Is Right" 171-84
Writing exercise 3
Tuesday, September 6 Nuggets exam (D2L quiz) Persuasive format sample 1
LBR
: "We Have No 'Right to Happiness'" 26-30
  "What If Marriage Is Bad for Us?" 160-63

Handout: "My Husband's Nine Wives"
Paper 1 assigned
Thursday, September 8 Paper 1 proposal Quotations 1-3
Persuasive format sample 2
On plagiarism
 
Tuesday, September 13 Paper 1 draft   Peer response 1
Thursday, September 15   Quotations 3-4
LBR: "Class Dismissed" 294-96
 
Tuesday, September 20 Paper 1 final draft (in D2L) Quotations 5
Handouts:
"Why Do American Kids Learn So Little?"
  "Order in the Classroom"
 
Thursday, September 22   Handout: "Japanese Education"  
Tuesday, September 27   Word problems
Online:
Qualities of good teachers
 
Thursday, September 29   LBR: "Proposal to Abolish Grading" 312-14
  "In Defense of Testing" 315-16
  "Two Cheers for Examinations" 317-20
Paper 2 assigned
Saturday, October 1 Quotations exam (D2L quiz)
Tuesday, October 4 Paper 2 proposal Handout: "It Isn't Just a Game" Little Seagull
   and InQuizitive
Thursday, October 6 Word problems quiz (D2L quiz)   In-class essay
Tuesday, October 11 Paper 2 draft   Peer response 2
InQuizitive
Wednesday, October 12 Last day to withdraw 
with "W" grade
Thursday, October 13 Paper 1 corrections LBR: "Work" 331-36
Handout: "What You Do Is What You Are"
 
Tuesday, October 18 InQuizitive set 1
Paper 2 final draft
LBR: "Brains as Well as Brawn" 337-38
  "Case for Working with Your Hands" 338-47
 
Thursday, October 20 In-class essay corrections LBR: "Eat Food: Food Defined" 492-500
  "Against Meat" 510-17
  "The Carnivore's Dilemma" 553-56
 
Tuesday, October 25 InQuizitive set 2

LBR: "Salvation" 236-37
Handout: "The Insufficiency of Honesty"

Paper 3 assigned
Thursday, October 27 Paper 3 proposal Handouts: "America, Look at Your Shame "
  "The Singer Solution to World Poverty"
 
Tuesday, November 1 Paper 3 draft   Peer response 3
Writing Matters Test (D2L quiz)
Thursday, November 3   LBR: "Why Boys Don't Play with Dolls" 232-35  
Tuesday, November 8 Paper 2 corrections
Paper 3 final draft
Online: "Barbie Doll"
LBR: "I Want a Wife" 150-51
 
Thursday, November 10   LBR: "Women's Brains" 223-28
  "You Are What You Say" 368-73

  "The Second Shift" 144-49
 
Tuesday, November 15 InQuizitive set 3 Online: "Hard Rock"
LBR
: "The Male Myth" 229-31
Handout: "The 'Act Like a Man' Box"
Paper 4 assigned
Thursday, November 17 Paper 4 proposal

Handouts: "Men as Success Objects"
    "The Men We Carry in Our Minds"

 
Monday-Friday,
November 21-25
Thanksgiving holiday
Tuesday, November 29 Paper 3 corrections
Paper 4 draft
InQuizitive set 4
Handout: "The Prisoner's Dilemma"  
 
Final exam
Thursday, December 1
10:30-12:30
Paper 4 final draft    
Monday, December 5 Paper 1-3 rewrites